My reply to your open letter Mr. Right :)

I remember once read an open letter from Mr. Right… and started thinking of how can I answer you, so this letter is for you…HAHAHAHAHA

Dear God’s second best

Before you ask me why you’re just my second best I’ll tell you now God Himself is my first and ultimate best – I will be your second best too. So, to start this letter I want to clear things out, I am also not a fairytale princess and ideal woman in all chick flicks movie or Kdrama. So, put your daydreams of love off to the side for a minute and let me tell you what makes me, “worth the wait” or “worth pursuing” and why people keep telling you to look and wait for me.

The first thing I really want you to understand is that I was not born your Ms. Right, God is molding me to be suitable for someone like you. We weren’t destined to cross paths and lock eyes from across a crowded room and fall hopelessly in love. God has been working in my heart for YEARS. Do you realize what was in my heart before Christ saved me or even the journey I journey? Of course, you don’t because we haven’t met yet or at least we haven’t see each other in the light of God’s will, but I can tell you it is equally as crazy and sinful as what you’ve been walking through. That is why I need some time… And it is also why you need the same. Let’s do each other a huge favor and give one another the time to heal from our pasts and become something different — something whole. I know that you’ve spent a lot of time feeling less than whole, like you’re missing something, longing for something and so have I. But now we have both been made new in Christ (2 Corinthians 5:17) and need to take some time to learn to walk in this new wholeness and Christ-likeness. So, I’m going to give you that space and commit to pray for you until God has made it clear that we are in the right season of our faith. Mind you, being joined with a person out of season is one of the most painful thing someone can experience, I did once and I’m hoping not to experience again, will you commit to pray for me that God will protect me from counterfeit relationship, please?

Somehow we both may fall in a relationship or a person and be in lala land for a little while, but what happens when the romance and passion subsides and left with just our hearts — left open and bare? What happens when the struggles hit and the person we are with isn’t strong enough to fight the good fight of faith? What happens when they mess up and we are expected to show them the same grace Christ showed us? I will tell you what might happen, things might fall apart. Whether on the surface or beneath it, things may fall apart…. That may happen, if two people are not both firmly rooted in their faith in Christ, they will suffer for that lack together. I could walk you through almost any church and show you marriage after marriage where people are suffering because they aroused love before it’s time. Marriage is a decision that we both intentionally need to seek the heart and will of God. Which is why we must join together in patience, even though we are apart.

Here is I believe we are working towards and what we need to know: God has asked me to be so much like Christ that I may be able to submit myself to you as I submit unto Him and point you to Jesus by my words and actions. Could I really do that right now? I’m getting closer (I hope), but I don’t think I could do that just yet. But when God gives me a peace about the continual growth of my own faith, I will know and I’ll be obedient to accept you in my life with all my heart. I will know that it is you because you will respectfully, tactfully, and politely pursue me with very clear intentions that will not lead me to question where I will stand. You will be respectful in all ways and not flirting. I should know that it is you because you’ll be more interested in my faith and what my relationship with Jesus looks like than being romantic and creating surface level connections – you will also know that it’s me because I’ll be the same — I am more interested in your faith and your growing relationship with Jesus.

So, please wait — Wait because God is telling us to wait. Wait because we have more growing to do. And wait because it will be worth it. Because at the end of the day, the reason I’m not seeing you yet is because I’m not yet prepared. And somehow the reason you’re not pursuing me yet is that you’re just not prepared, too. Being patient and trusting in God’s timing this thing between you and I also hinges on our obedience and trust in the Lord. Please join with me in individually submitting to God…Even if that means that there actually isn’t a Ms. Right waiting for you — even if there’s no Mr. Right actually looking for me… Can we be okay with that? Can we trust God and be okay with whatever the outcome, knowing that we have already received all we need in His Son? That’s a hard question, but until we are in a place where we are okay with that and we are complete in the Lord, we won’t be in a place where we will be able to see each other in the light of God’s will.

Thinking of and praying for you,

Your God’s second best

Leave a comment